AP THROW-IN VIOLATIONS AND FOULS

The average official will administer literally hundreds of throw-ins, both designated and non-designated during the season. In a very small percentage of those throw-ins, there will be a throw-in violation by either the throwing team or by the defenders.

There will be an even smaller percentage of those throw-ins that will be alternating possession throw-ins. (AP) The chances of having a throw-in violation on an AP throw-in are very minimal. It is just not likely to happen to you.

But, if you should win the lottery you probably will wish you knew how to administer the play.

Here is some information for you.

If Team A commits a throw-in violation during an AP throw-in Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in and Team B gets the AP arrow as well. Double whammy.

Team A can only lose the AP throw-in two ways. The first and most common way for Team A to complete the throw-in is by having the throw-in touched in bounds by a teammate or legally touched by an opponent either inbounds or out of bounds.

The only other way Team A can use up its AP throw-in is to violate that throw-in. If Team A violates its AP throw-in it loses the arrow and of course the ball as well to Team B. Again a double whammy.

How can Team A violate the throw-in you might ask? The Team A thrower might leave the designated throw-in spot or throw the ball directly out of bounds
without anyone else touching it. They might not release the ball on the throw-in within 5 seconds or maybe they step in bounds still holding the ball. There are several other ways as well.

What if Team B violates the throw-in? Good question. Team A gets a throw-in for the Team B violation, Team B is issued a warning for delay and Team A keeps the arrow, Team A’s throw-in is for the violation by Team B and Team A gets to use the arrow on the next held ball or to start the new quarter.

What if Team A fouls during an AP throw-in? If that happens they would be charged with either a team control foul or possibly a player control foul. Remember Team A is in control during a throw-in.

However, Team A retains control of the AP arrow! B gets the ball for a throw-in but not the arrow.

Double whammy for a violation by Team A but no double whammy on a foul by Team A.

Here is a play for you that just might happen:

Play

A1 has the ball at her disposal for an AP throw-in. A1’s throw-in is illegally kicked by B2.

Ruling:

As a result of the illegal kicking by B2, Team A is awarded a throw-in. Since B’s touching was illegal, (kicking) Team A is judged to not have completed the throw-in. Team A will retain the arrow for the next held ball or new quarter.

CB-4.42.5

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *