DRIBBLING FROM BACKCOURT TO FRONTCOURT

Backcourt violations are difficult to officiate because they often surprise officials and the rule is complicated and takes a lot of understanding. Especially difficult is the part of the backcourt rule covering the player who is dribbling from backcourt to frontcourt. A key to remember is that the division line is in backcourt and if the player or the ball is touching backcourt the ball location is still in backcourt and the ten-second count should continue.

Below are some rules citations that apply.

Rule: 4-4-1

ART. 1

A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

ART. 2
A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if ┬Čneither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

ART 6
During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Rule: 4-13-2

ART. 2

A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the ┬Čopponent’s backboard.

The covering official in the clip below demonstrates a thorough understanding of the backcourt rule as discussed above and clearly continues the ten-second count.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *