SOME FUNKY RULE SITUATIONS

Below I have detailed several funky rules situations that have occurred in the last week or so.

First, are a couple of double dribble situations.

A1 passes the ball toward A2 when B1 deflects the pass and the ball hits the floor. B1 recovers the ball with two hands and then begins a dribble. The covering official rules a double dribble violation. Was the official correct?

Probably not! Rule 4-15-1 states that a player must be in control to begin a dribble. The fact that B1 deflected the pass rather than intercepting it likely means B1 was not in control of the ball when he/she batted the ball to the floor. So, he/she, by rule, could begin a dribble.

A1 passes to A2 who muffs the ball and it hits the floor. When A2 attempts to recover the muff he/she again muffs the ball and it bounces two more times on the floor before A2 finally catches the ball and then begins a dribble. The covering official rules a double dribble violation. Is the official correct?

Again, probably not. A2 never had control of the ball until he/she finally caught the ball. A player must be in control before beginning a dribble.

See 4-15-1 below and also, check out 4.15.1 in the casebook.
4-15-1

A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard.

Here is a delay of game situation.

The final buzzer sounds to end the halftime intermission. Team A is on the floor and ready to play. Team B has not returned to the court and the officials wait over three minutes for Team B’s return to the court. The officials impose no consequence for Team B’s late arrival. Were the officials correct?

It depends! 2-4-4 states that the Referee is responsible for having each team notified three minutes before each half begins. If the Referee fulfilled that responsibility then Team B should be charged with a team Technical foul for delay.

If the Referee did not see that each team was notified, then the crew will probably have to eat Team A’s irritation for having to wait to start the half.

This is not a resumption of play situation since Team B had not yet returned to the court. See 4-38.

Below are some rule references.
2-4-4
ART. 4
The referee shall:
Be responsible for having each team notified three minutes before each half is to begin.

Rule 10
ART. 5
A team shall not:
Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:
a. When the clock is not running consuming a full minute through not being ready when it is time to start either half.

Below is a dunking situation.

A1 while dribbling toward the basket is fouled by B1 and then loses control of the ball. Well after the official’s whistle A2 recovers the ball, dribbles it once and dunks it through his basket.

The officials assess no penalty to A2. Are the officials correct?

Probably not! 10-3-3 clearly states that it is a Technical foul for dunking a dead ball. Certainly discretion should be used when a ball is dunked immediately after a whistle. In this situation several seconds had elapsed between the whistle and the dunk and A2 was probably just trying to draw attention to himself.

10-3
ART. 3
A player shall not:
Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury; dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball.

Below is a play with involving a player on a throw-in.

Thrower A1 has the ball at his disposal for a throw in. A1 extends the ball through the boundary plane where he/she is illegally contacted on the arms by B1. The covering official rules a personal foul on B1 and since Team A was not in the bonus, awards Team A the ball out of bounds. Is the official correct?

No! Any illegal contact on the thrower (whether inbounds or out of bounds) results in an intentional foul and A1 should be awarded two free throws and then Team A gets the ball for a throw-in.

9-2-10
Penalty 4
4. If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *