TEST QUESTIONS MISSED ON THE FLOOR

Already in this young season, I have seen at least 5 pre-season rule test questions that have been missed on the court.

A1 and B1 jump center to start the game. The tapped ball is caught simultaneously by A2 and B2 and a held ball is ruled. We know that the alternating arrow cannot be set, so a re-jump is required. The question is who participates in this re-jump? Is it the original two jumpers or the two players involved in the held ball action?

The answer, of course, is that the two players involved in the held ball are by rule, required to re-jump. The same rule logic applies if non- jumpers A2 and B2 simultaneously touch the tapped ball before it goes out of bounds.

Here is another play situation I saw this past weekend.

A5 fouls B1 who is in the act of shooting. The try is not successful.

It is A5’s fifth personal foul and she is disqualified.

B6 and B7 are already at the scorer’s table ready to enter the game as the official awaits A5’s substitute. When A6 reports to enter the game replacing A5, the official beckons her into the game but denies B6 and B7’s entrance into the game sighting the two free throws.

I’ll bet you know that if a player is disqualified any substitutes from either team who are eligible to enter may do so even if there is a two shot free throw pending. It may help to speed up the game a little.

Below are a couple of control situations that I believe were misinterpreted.

By rule, a player must be in control (holding or dribbling) before he/she can start a dribble.

I saw this play.

A1 is passing the ball toward A2 when B1 deflects the ball to the floor. B1 then recovers the ball with two hands and begins a dribble. The covering official rules a double dribble.

It is probably a rules stretch to think that a deflection is equivalent to control. Very seldom is a player in control of the ball when he/she deflects an opponent’s pass. The right ruling would likely have been to allow the dribble.

Here is a play in a similar vein. A1 leaps high and bats a rebound out toward the division line where it goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A4 is the first to touch the ball in backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation.

Unless rebounder A1 caught and threw the ball into backcourt, Team A was never in control in front court as a bat does not constitute player control. This play probably should have been ruled legal.

I got an explanation for this ruling on thE play below.

B1 who had obtained a legal guarding position on A1, was maintaining that position when A1 contacted B1 on the torso and knocked B1 to the floor. At the time of the contact B1 may have had only one foot touching the floor and was moving obliquely backward. The covering official ruled the play as a block.

During the conversation after the game, I asked the official why he had ruled a block. He replied that B1 had only one foot on the floor at the time of the contact and therefore, was not set. So, he ruled that a blocking foul had occurred.

I am sure that you know that once LGP is obtained the guard no longer is required to have two feet touching the floor. In fact, the guard doesn’t have to have any feet touching the floor. Also, remember that the guard can be moving when contact occurs and as long as that movement is not forward the defender has maintained LGP. Defenders who have obtained LGP need not be “set,” whatever that means.

The play in question should have been ruled a charge on A1.

In the video clip below the player in white actually bats the ball twice before getting control and beginning a dribble.

https://vimeo.com/148425563

ray lutz

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *