This is the third season that high school basketball officials have officiated with Rule 10-6-12 that tells us that four distinct acts constitute a foul when committed against a ball handler or dribbler.

The list below was inserted into the rules to ensure the freedom of movement of ball handlers and dribblers.

Those four acts as you know are :

1. Putting two hands on a player.
2. Placing and keeping a hand on the dribbler.
3, Contacting the ball handler more than once with the same hand or alternating hands
4. Placing and extended arm bar on the ball handler

Number 4 the act involving the “extended arm bar” bothered me from the get-go because nowhere in the rule book was “extended arm bar” defined. I was never sure whether the fulcrum for the “extended arm bar” was the elbow or whether it was the shoulder.

We have now learned the fulcrum is the shoulder.

In the past two seasons, I witnessed several fouls called on the defender when it appeared to me that his/her arm bar was against the defender’s body and the offensive player was actually supplying the force of the contact.

So, I was extremely pleased to find a definition of the aforementioned extended arm bar, not in the rule book but in the early season 2016-17 Rules Interpretations found on the NFHS Website.

I have never been a fan of making rules through interpretations but in this case. I am just happy to have a clear definition of the term.

Below is the definition excerpted from the 16-17 Rules Interpretations. Officiate accordingly!

Arm Bar: An arm bent across one’s chest is an arm bar. When a defender has the bent arm across his/her chest and on the offensive player with no exertion, there is no foul. When a defender uses this bent arm and extends it out away from the chest to push an offensive player away or to control his/her movement, it is illegal and a foul should be ruled

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *