WHO INITIATES CONTACT?

Often when an offensive player who is in the act of shooting initiates contact on a legal defender and that contact is judged to be incidental the proper call is no call at all. The theory is that the defender is not dislodged or displaced to any great degree or put at any significant disadvantage, so rather than calling a cheap charge infraction on the offense, officials “pass” on the contact. And, often that is the correct decision.

The line of demarcation lies somewhere in that “not displaced, not dislodged, not put at any significant disadvantage territory.” Take the video clip below. The defender has clearly obtained LGP but the contact is minimal, The defender may be put at a disadvantage, however, because she is displaced to the extent that maybe she cannot compete for the rebound on an equal basis with the offensive shooter.

This is a tough call. What decision would you make?

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *